County of Monterey

Pacific Grove - Meals on Wheels 700 Jewel Avenue Pacific Grove, CA 93950



Meeting Agenda - Final-Revised CITIES PLEASE POST IN YOUR LOCATIONS

Friday, January 5, 2024 12:00 PM

City Selection Committee

Mayor Ian Oglesby (Seaside) Mayor Robert White (Greenfield) Mayor Kimbley Craig (Salinas) Mayor Bruce Delgado (Marina) Mayor Scott Donaldson (Del Rey Oaks) Mayor Mike LeBarre (City of King) Mayor Jose L. Rios (Gonzales) Mayor Tyller Williamson (Monterey) Mayor Anna M. Velazquez (Soledad) Mayor Dave Potter (Carmel) Mayor Bill Peake (Pacific Grove) Mayor Mary Ann Carbone (Sand City)

Call to Order

<u>Roll Call</u>

Additions and Corrections

The Clerk of the Board will announce agenda corrections and proposed additions, which may be acted on by the Board as provided in Sections 54954.2 of the California Government Code.

General Public Comments

This portion of the meeting is reserved for persons to address any matter not on this agenda.

Committee Matters:

1. Review and approve DRAFT CSC meeting Minutes of January 6, 2023 and March 3, 2023.

Attachments:	DRAFT Minutes CSC 1-6-2023
	DRAFT Minutes CSC 3-3-2023

2. Nominate and elect members of the City Selection Committee to serve as 2024 Chair and Vice Chair for a one-year term (CY 2024) or until a successor is elected.

Consider Appointee due to Term Expiration, Vacancy or other action related

3. Monterey Bay Air Resources District:

a. Appoint One (1) mayor representing Monterey Peninsula appointed by the City Selection Committee for a term ending December 31, 2025.

Mayor Mary Ann Carbone appointed January 7, 2022 - Term end January 8, 2024; Sand City

VOTE BY THE FOLLOWING MONTEREY PENINSULA CITIES:

Monterey Carmel By the Sea Pacific Grove Del Rey Oaks Seaside Marina Sand City The governing board shall reflect, to the extent feasible and practicable, the geographic diversity of the district and the variation of population between the cities in the district.

Attachments:Summary Page - Monterey Bay Air Resources District 12-2-2020Unification Agreement Monterey Bay Air Resources District

4. Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO):

Appoint One (1) mayor or council member to the subject Commission to a term ending May 1, 2028.

Alternate Mayor Anna M. Velazquez currently appointed; Soledad

New term would be effective: May 7, 2024 to May 1, 2028

VOTE BY THE FOLLOWING CITIES (All):

Salinas	Greenfield
Seaside	King City
Marina	Soledad
Del Rey Oaks	Gonzales
Sand City	Carmel
Monterey	Pacific Grove

Pursuant to Government Code Sections 56325 (b) and 56335, the City Selection Committee is encouraged to select members to fairly represent the diversity of the cities in the county, with respect to population and geography.

Attachments:	Summary Page - Local Agency Formation Commission 12-2-2020	
	LAFCO - Ch. 2 Formation of Commission and Selection of	
	<u>Commissioners</u>	
	LAFCO Letter 2023 (New Attachment)	

Annual Review of Appointments

5. In January an annual review of all committees' active/existing appointments with terms and serving at the pleasure of the City Selection Committee will be considered for changes in its appointed members. Consideration shall be given for automatic and regional rotations of an alternate member being seated as a primary member.

City representatives may put forth their interest at the beginning of December the year prior to the Chair and Secretary of the City Selection Committee in other committees they may wish to be considered for. If there is no interest in changes in appointments annual review will not need to occur.

This review does not apply to newly appointed members in January.

Attachments: Annual Review of CSC Appointment Roster as of January 6 2023

Adjournment

Note: City Selection Committee rules specify that each city's representative to the Committee is the city's mayor or his/her designee from the city's council (pursuant to §50271 of the Government Code).

ADDENDA

6. For Item No. 4 Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) A new letter has been attached to the file from LAFCO